© Delta Zeta-Delta Theta. Designed by Caleigh Cooper

  • White Tumblr Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Our Sorority

Delta Zeta Sorority was founded in 1902 at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. When six young women came together that year to form a social sorority, they had a vision of a lifetime sisterhood fostered by ideals that they cherished. These friends bonded quickly as they faced the challenges of starting a sorority on the male-dominated campus that was known as the "Mother of Fraternities".

Our six founders, Alfa Lloyd, Mary Collins, Anna Keen, Julia Bishop, Mabelle Minton, and Anne Simmons met with the then president of the University, Dr. Guy Potter Benton. They were there to make their idea of starting a sisterhood a reality.

On October 24, 1902, Delta Zeta became the first sorority to be founded at Miami University. Today, Delta Zeta has enriched the lives of over 220,000 alumnae and collegiate members in the United States and Canada.

Houston Delta Zeta

Since February 11, 1956, Delta Zeta at the University of Houston has strived to develop young women into their best selves. Our purpose is to enrich lives by living our creed. To our sisters we give our love, loyalty, and promise of friendship. To our campus and community, we give our involvement, commitment to make a difference, and our intellectual minds.

Sisterhood is one of the most important aspects of Delta Zeta. Not only are you a member when you join DZ, but you are a sister. In Delta Zeta you will find sisters that will always have your back, no matter what.

Our lifetime commitment to Delta Zeta is a promise made to the world, to live as the best women we have grown to be.